Future Leaders Tour REMC
Student Lift Class

On January 31, Randolph EMC hosted the Student LIFT class of 2024 for a live-line demonstration, a facility tour and a discussion on careers at electrical cooperatives. Student Leadership Information For Tomorrow (LIFT) is a program of the Asheboro/Randolph Chamber of Commerce. REMC is a primary sponsor of this educational outreach program offering 28 high school sophomores and juniors the opportunity to learn more about careers in the local area and to gain valuable leadership skills.

Safety and Environmental Coordinator Jeff McDuffie, Line Superintendent Daniel Maness, Journeyman Lineman and Foreman Rodney Haithcock, Journeyman Linemen Ryan Kivett, and Apprentice Linemen Logan Myrick and Dakota Smith presented the live-line demonstration in the Operations Support Facility. In addition to describing the hazards of electrical contact, the REMC crew outlined the functions of the mobile substation and instructed students about safety gear that lineworkers must wear. Students also met with GIS Technician Hannah Monroe and Manager of Engineering Aubin Reynolds in the Dispatch Center. There they learned about the cutting-edge technology REMC uses to track and repair outages.

REMC appreciates the Chamber, and Student LIFT mentor, Baxter Hammer of the Timken Company, for helping to make this a memorable day for these future leaders.


Student LIFT Class of 2023-2024

  • Erika Bordeaux, Randleman 
  • Helen Britt, Asheboro 
  • Katelyn Brown, Eastern Randolph 
  • Regan Burris, Uwharrie Charter 
  • Jayla Carl, Uwharrie Charter 
  • Brady Collins, Providence Grove
  • Fabiola Cortex, Asheboro 
  • Autumn Dixon, Randleman 
  • Daisy Gaither, Gaither Arts & Science Academy
  • Claire Hargett, Uwharrie Charter 
  • Lucas Harris, Eastern Randolph 
  • Ryleigh Hineline, Southwest Randolph 
  • Emory Johnson, Uwharrie Charter 
  • Malaika Khan, Asheboro 
  • Charles Knott, Asheboro 
  • Omarrius Little, Eastern Randolph 
  • Kayla Macon, Eastern Randolph 
  • Ozmar Martinez, Asheboro 
  • Tavin Minter, Uwharrie Charter 
  • Haley Montgomery, Randleman 
  • Victoria Muro-Rodriguez, Randleman 
  • Aidan Smith, Uwharrie Charter 
  • Cora Sparrow, Eastern Randolph 
  • Braydon Tyl, Southwest Randolph 
  • Jaden Varner, Eastern Randolph 
  • Madison Voncannon, Randolph Early College
  • Eva Vuncannon, Asheboro
  • Peyton Whitaker, Providence